8.30pm – Salle Empire, Hôtel de Paris

Formed of a kernel of six musicians, Ensemble Masques is led by harpsichordist Olivier Fortin. It takes its name from the “masques” of Elizabethan England – entertainments that combined poetry, music, dance and theatre. Their interpretation of Bach is astonishing for its vitality. The secular cantatas they have chosen show that the Cantor of Leipzig certainly knew how to enjoy life.

Free shuttle service

The shuttle provided is the 6 p.m. service

Photo / Ensemble Masques ©David Samyn

Jean-Sébastien Bach
Suite pour orchestre n°3 «Ouverture » en ré majeur, BWV 1068
Cantate des paysans « Mer hahn
en neue Oberkeet »
, BWV 212
Concerto pour deux clavecins
en do mineur
, BWV 1062
Cantate du café « Schweigt stille,
plaudert nicht »
, BWV 211

Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano
Vincent Lièvre-Picard, tenor
Marcel Raschke, bass
Ensemble Masques
Olivier Fortin, conductor and harpsichordist

With the support of the Québec government